Historically fast. Perfect weather settings for the elite race allowed Copenhagen Half Marathon to underline, that it is currently the world’s strongest half marathon.

The possibility of a world record had been discussed before the race, and today this was only 17 seconds from becoming reality. The winner of the race, Abraham Cheroben of Bahrain, clocked a time 58:40 minutes just 17 seconds from Zersenay Tadese’s world record.

This not only made the Copenhagen Half Marathon winner time this year’s world lead; it also placed Cheroben as the third fastest half marathon runner in history.

A large group of ten runners passed the 10 km mark in 27:50 minutes, but just 6 km later the leading group was reduced to three. Alex Oloitiptip Korio and the race’s big surprise Jorum Okombo, followed suit, but Cheroben was untouchable and went on to cross the finish line 27 seconds faster than the previous race record.

Okombo and Korio took second and third with a 58:48 and 58:51 time respectively, positioning them as number 6 and 8 of the all-time best runners on the distance.

Five women below race record

The women’s elite race went down in history. As with the men, the women passed the 10 km mark as a large group in a split of 31:43 minutes, which was within race record. On the last part of the course, Eunice Chumba of Bahrain took a lead and went on to claim the win by crossing the finish line in 66:11 minutes. A time which is the 9th fastest in history.

With five women crossing the finish line below the previous race record, the Copenhagen Half Marathon is absolutely a proven top female race.

Overall CPH Half winners

Men’s race

1. Abraham Cheroben (BRN) – 58:40, 2017 world lead and national record
2. Jorum Lumbasi Okombo (KEN) – 58:48, PB
3. Alex Oloitiptip Korio (KEN) – 58:51, PB
4. Albert Kipkosgei Kangogo (KEN) – 59:25, PB
5. Leonard Barsoton (KEN) – 59:28, PB
6. Moses Martin Kurong (UGA) – 59:50, national record
7. Geoffrey Kimutai Koech (KEN) – 59:50, PB

Women’s race

1. Eunice Chumba BRN 66.11 PB
2. Joan Chelimo Melly KEN 66:25 PB
3. Brigid Jepchirchir Kosgei KEN 66.35 PB
4. Roza Dereje ETH 67:23 PB
5. Meskerem Assefa ETH 67:42 PB